There should be a “share chat history” toggle switch when adding contacts to a group. When turned on, the app re-sends the past 10 messages (maybe the whole history), except self-destructing messages, to the new contact. The messages get cryptographically signed by the group inviter, not their original senders.
Actual behavior
Currently if a contact is added to a group, they can’t see what happened in the group before they were added. Single messages can be resent by their authors to make them available to new group members; but they can’t resend messages sent by others (one of the reasons is that they can’t re-encrypt them to the new group member without destroying the signature of the original author).
Maybe it would make sense to combine the old emails into one or at least a few large ones.
For example, the messages could be packed into a zip archive attached to such an email and DC could recognize it using a special code. On the recipient side, the emails would be displayed individually again.
This could avoid problems with many cheap email providers.
If a lot of emails are sent at once, the account is often temporarily blocked until users verify themselves there again.
I hate to necropost, but that seems better than duplicate topics in this case.
Have there been any developments with history syncing for new group members?
I see some talk about automatically resending channel messages, but not normal groups. With Detla gaining more popularity as of late, this especially seems like an important UX feature for new members as they trickle into groups.
This certainly should be off by default for privacy, but be togglable and settable upon group creation.
My guess is that this would be handled either by a p2p connection as a single “chat archive” transaction, or as people’s clients resending messages to the new member as they come online.
EDIT: I see that this has been mentioned in the Super Groups proposal: