What are actual Delta Chat limitations?

Maybe I misunderstand, but for groups, you can use the profile that is in the group to add your second profile to the group, then switch to that second profile and remove the first profile from the group

Yes, in this case the messages would not reach you

(Edit: … when it comes to adding someone else to a “Group”, not a “Channel”…) It’s a multi-step process that might seem a bit awkward, but it’s not that hard. In more detail:

Method 1: add the contact in the normal way, as though you were only seeking 1-on-1 chatting with them. (Say by way of QR barcode, or generated link was shared to them by some other means). Next, in the group one wants to invite the contact into, tap the group name at the top, to reveal the list of group members (the “Group” dialog). Now tap “Add Members”. The subscribed members appear with checkboxes. Check the checkbox beside your new contact (who will now be in this list), and click OK.

Method 2: In the case of a Deltachat contact not yet added, “QR invite code” was also there, in the “Group” dialog (from Method 1). Tap/click it, and a QR Code for the group can be displayed (for your contact to scan), and in the lower left is also “Copy Link” - that link could be shared somehow outside Deltachat if necessary.

This will only work with groups, but @ploum was talking about channels

Oops, thanks. Well, each channel has a link representing it, right? So I guess one could share the link. But as to a feature within Deltachat which avoids forwarding some (externally-known) link, I see @ploum 's point

You are right, I was talking about channels I manage, not groups.

That is why it’s a good idea to add a classic email account to your relay mix. Sadly, since latest version you can’t disable sending through it.

Because of how it works, my fear is that I could lose contact with people that is not using deltachat enough and their account is at some point deleted… in fact what is happening already is that some people stop receiving notifications and because they only have me, they don’t open delta chat actively and I can’t communicate with them without having to switch to other IM apps.

I take profit of this thread to summarize some of my requests which could be relevant for enough potential users too (some, got from Comparison of Instant Messengers)

General

Security/privacy

Groups

Another important feature to many people using mainstream IM apps is communities:

This is indeed a problem. No software can solve it.

In my experience, by just ignoring them in other chat apps you’ll get them to eventually open DC and use it.

this is also possible in desktop, I just realize there is no explicit “reset” option in desktop which is a bug/forgotten feature, but you can still revoke it by clicking the invite link you want to revoke

the quoted post is about groups with admin, no communities, the link is better moved to the other point “No roles (admin/moderator) in groups”

you can just create a dedicated profile, ex. if you have a channel called “Practical Cooking”, you can just create a profile called as well “Practical Cooking” so when posting it looks like it is just the channel itself posting, but I agree this is too complicated for most people and would be nicer to have some configuration to let people decide if they want to host the channel anonymously in their current profile

this is likely to come in the future! in the meantime people can just share the same invite link they used to join

adding a bot to your group basically means breaking encryption, the bot will have access to all the messages sent in the group, unlike in Telegram where the bot is added in a “privacy mode” where it only have access to messages with commands like /help or explicit mentions @bot do that etc, we really need something like that in Delta Chat to be able to enjoy bot utility without breaking privacy and overloading bots with a lot of messages

This was the subject of a previous thread and this is very unsatisfactory because you need to handle multiple profiles, because people can still contact you on your other profile (which doesn’t save your from harassment or notifications) and you need to decide it before creating a channel (while, in real life, things evolve not in the way you expect it). Also, you will have to manage people on that second profile. If, for example, a real life friend if following your channel, he may simply use that channel to contact you for something and now you have two places to chat with him.

So, no it is absolutely not a solution. At best, it could be a work around for some specific cases.

(now I agree that it might not be important to everyone, that’s why it is listed as limitation to be known)

That’s cool. Because I found myself wanting to share a channel with someone and not able to find the original link invite :wink:

PS: updated the initial post with your other suggestions

right-clicking the QR code offers “Reset QR Code” also on desktop.

Security/privacy

The way to protect your privacy is to just make a new profile. The issue is just that the UI doesn’t show that your profile is exposed to subscribers. In most cases, it’s a good thing that it is though.