# Warning about provider's storage but delete from server is enabled

**URL:** <https://forum.delta.chat/t/warning-about-providers-storage-but-delete-from-server-is-enabled/3575>\
**Category:** Feature Proposal\
**Created:** [February 15, 2025, 7:31pm UTC](https://forum.delta.chat/t/warning-about-providers-storage-but-delete-from-server-is-enabled/3575 "2025-02-15T19:31:25Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 3\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![icaria36](https://forum.delta.chat/letter_avatar_proxy/v4/letter/i/4bbf92/32.png) [@icaria36](https://forum.delta.chat/u/icaria36)\
**Post date:** [February 15, 2025, 7:31pm UTC](https://forum.delta.chat/t/warning-about-providers-storage-but-delete-from-server-is-enabled/3575/1 "2025-02-15T19:31:25Z")

</div>

## Expected behavior

If `Settings > Chats & Media > Delete messages from server` is set to Automatic, then Delta Chat will ensure that server storage is fine, right? In that case, users with this setting shouldn’t see this warning about “Your provider’s storage…”

Also, there is a typo in “message”, it should be “messages”.

 ![image](https://support.delta.chat/uploads/default/original/2X/9/9d3002ec3a1de11a8ff896f13f292391e8e2ae3f.png)

This message unnecessarily warns users, tells them that they might stop receiving messages, asks them to check whether they cad delete messages from the server… Too much fuzz (likely to confuse non-technical users) for a problem that doesn’t exist if your settings are taking care of this problem already.

## Actual behavior

Users get this warning even when `Settings > Chats & Media > Delete messages from server` is set to Automatic.

## Example Images

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![r10s](https://forum.delta.chat/user_avatar/forum.delta.chat/r10s/32/1513_2.png) [@r10s](https://forum.delta.chat/u/r10s)\
**Post date:** [October 3, 2026, 11:02pm UTC](https://forum.delta.chat/t/warning-about-providers-storage-but-delete-from-server-is-enabled/3575/2 "2026-10-03T23:02:39Z")

</div>

meanwhile, the option “Delete messages from server” and its error messages do not longer exist, so the issue at hand can no longer happen.

background: chatmail relays, by default and automatically, delete the oldest largest messages (attachments) when there is a risk to run out of QUOTA. previews and normal messages are usually not affected. that way, user are never unable being reached for new messages

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![r10s](https://forum.delta.chat/user_avatar/forum.delta.chat/r10s/32/1513_2.png) [@r10s](https://forum.delta.chat/u/r10s)\
**Post date:** [October 6, 2026, 3:41pm UTC](https://forum.delta.chat/t/warning-about-providers-storage-but-delete-from-server-is-enabled/3575/3 "2026-10-06T15:41:43Z")

</div>


